Creative multi-tasking

Fender

With Frankfurt Book Fair approaching, I’ve been putting together a website to help sell The Great Space Race to overseas publishers and the film industry.

My old friend Simon has come to the rescue and is creating a full CGI movie of the rocket launch sequence… as soon as it’s done I’ll put a link to it here. It looks fanatastic already.

I’ve been writing the music to go with it. This involved a raid on my parents’ house to unearth various pieces of musical kit – my bass guitar, and a Fender Stratocaster (thanks Dad!). You’ve got to have the right tools for the job, and there are few better tools than a vintage Strat. I recorded my brother playing his very lovely Gretch drum kit, and I think I’ve got a cracking tune together. Rock’n’Roll!

I’m in what is without doubt one of the toughest couple of months workwise that I can remember since the build up to selling Red Jericho (hence the blog suffering a little). Hideous hours and what feels like slow progress. If the days were twice as long I’d feel I was getting somewhere!

I’m about a quarter of the way through Space Race illustration, and hope to crack the halfway point within the next two weeks.

All looking good though, and I know most of the work will be done in a couple of months (with luck).

Now where did I put my alarm clock… 5.30am? So soon?

Leave a Reply

